Chamber Series

Chamber Series Concert 1

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 8:00 pm

David Amado, conductor
David Southorn, violin
DSO Chamber Orchestra

SCHOENBERG: Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night)
VIVALDI: The Four Seasons


Two works that place nature at the center of the action: Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons and Schoenberg’s Transfigured Night. The Schoenberg, filled with atmospheric evocations of nature, complex layering of ideas, and long, dramatic trajectories, masterfully recreates Richard Dehmel’s poem of the same name. The Four Seasons is one of classical music’s most beloved works. These four concerti, featuring DSO’s Concertmaster, David Southorn, graphically, and beautifully, portray the joys and perils of each season.

–David Amado