Classics Series

Classics Series Concert 2: War and Peace

Friday, November 15, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Copeland Hall at The Grand Opera House

RAVEL: Le Tombeau de Couperin

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37

NIELSEN: Symhony No. 5, Op. 50

David Amado, conductor

Michael Brown, piano

Classics Series: Concert 2

War and Peace

From David Amado:

Our second Classics concert presents music about contrast. Nielsen’s Fifth symphony, written in 1922, exorcises the demons that haunted those who lived through the Great War. Tombeau de Couperin does the same. Ravel wrote a series of short pieces, in the style of the great French Baroque keyboard master, François Couperin, in memory of friends lost to the First World War, striking a touching balance between grace and melancholy. In between, we’ll feature pianist Michael Brown in Beethoven’s stormy third piano concerto—at turns gentle and violent—paying homage to the past as much as trailblazing into the future, it shows Beethoven at the cusp of a new era he alone precipitated.

Pre-concert discussion begins at 6:30 p.m.

Read about pianist-composer Michael Brown here.



This concert is generously underwritten by Tatiana and Gerret Copeland.