Classics Series

Classics Series Concert 4: Dancing About Architecture

Friday, March 22, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Copeland Hall at The Grand Opera House

MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 12 in A Major, K. 414

BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 7 in E Major, WAB 107

David Amado, conductor

Leon Fleisher, piano

Classics Series Concert 4

Dancing About Architecture

Celebrating Leon Fleisher at 90




Pre-concert discussion begins at 6:30 p.m.

From David Amado:

Classics 4 welcomes one of the titans of the classical stage. Leon Fleisher will join us in his 90th birthday year to perform Mozart’s 12th Piano Concerto. Its unfiltered buoyancy, melodic invention, and virtuosity will be at the fore as Fleisher will bring the experience of more than half a century of an astonishing career to bear as he joins the DSO for the first time. His insight, knowledge, experience, and raw musical horsepower promise to make his appearance extraordinary. The second half features the DSO premier of Bruckner’s magnificent 7th Symphony—a masterpiece of sonic architecture. 19th Century romantic harmony, Classical form, and an ancient, otherworldly aesthetic make this symphony one of his most popular.

Read pianist Leon Fleisher’s biography: Leon Fleisher biography

Read the Program Notes about this concert: Classics Series Concert 4 Program Notes