Classics Series

Lewes Classics Concert 1: The American Dream

Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 3:00 pm


BERNSTEIN: Serenade (After Plato's "Symposium")

COPLAND: Appalachian Spring

BARBER: Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance

David Amado, conductor

Jennifer Koh, violin

Classics Series: Concert 1

The American Dream: A Tribute to Leonard Bernstein


Pre-concert discussion begins at 2:00 p.m.

From David Amado:

We celebrate Bernstein’s Centenary with an all-American program. Two masterful ballet scores—Copland’s Appalachian Spring and Barber’s Meditation and Dance of Vengeance are joined Robert Paterson’s colorful and compelling 21st Century portrait of Vermont’s Green Mountains. We’ll feature brilliant, critically acclaimed violinist Jennifer Koh in Bernstein’s Serenade. Based on Plato’s Symposium, it is musical testament to love and friendship—always infused with Bernstein’s gift of melody, rhythmic vitality, and sharp wit.

Read violinist Jennifer Koh’s biography: Jennifer Koh biography

Read about the Alfred I. duPont Composer Award and our 2018-2019 Season winner, Robert Paterson: Alfred I. duPont Composer’s Award and 2018-2019 Winner

Read the Program Notes about this concert: Classics Series Concert 1 Program Notes

Watch violinist Jennifer Koh’s speech from the most recent League of American Orchestras Conference:

Read her speech here: