Special Events

Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday, February 07, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Copeland Hall at The Grand Opera House

KODALY: Dances from Galanta
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra
Stefan Solyom, conductor
Nareh Arghamanyann, piano

2018 marks the 380th anniversary of the Kalmar Nyckel’s landing in America and the start of the New Sweden colony. To celebrate that historical moment, The Grand, Delaware Symphony Orchestra, and The Kalmar Nyckel Foundation will welcome the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra from Sweden on its first North American tour. With Music Director Stefan Solyom at the helm, this revered orchestra will play a program that includes Dances from Galanta by Zoltan Kodaly, the Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2, and Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9, appropriately known as “From the New World.” “The Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra plays with intensity. It must be heard.” Sinfinimusic.com