Classics Series

Brunet Conducts Tchaikovsky

Friday, September 20, 2024 at 7:30 pm

Copeland Hall at The Grand Opera House

Mélisse Brunet, Music Director Finalist • Melissa White, violin


  • Anna Clyne: This Midnight Hour
  • Florence Price: Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64


Concert Run Time: Approx. 90 minutes plus a 20-minute intermission

Mélisse Brunet leads the Delaware Symphony Orchestra as the first Music Director Finalist. Joining her is violinist Melissa White, showcasing the brilliance of Florence Price’s Violin Concerto No. 1. The contemporary sounds of Anna Clyne’s evocative 2015 composition, “This Midnight Hour” are included in the program that culminates with Tchaikovsky’s majestic Symphony No. 5 in E minor.


“A skilled and polished conductor with an excellent pedigree including conducting degrees from the Cleveland Institute of Music, the University of Michigan, and the Paris Conservatory, Brunet led the orchestra with panache and clarity, giving inspiring and assured renditions of each work.”
— Cleveland Classical